Personal Blog of Mustafa Basgun

My Last Day at Verizon Wireless

Wow! I can’t believe it has been 9 years at Verizon. I have had a wonderful time here, and fortunately learned so much from the ambitious and smart people that I worked with. But I have recently decided it is time for me to try out something new – so my last day at Verizon Wireless will be Friday, March 18th. When I started in 2002, it was MCI WorldCom. Verizon Communications acquired us in 2005, and the name became Verizon Business. In 2007, I transitioned to a new team at the “wireless” part of the company, Verizon Wireless. I have worked at four different locations during my time.

There is, of course, never an appropriate time to leave. I feel a great sense of accomplishment building several successful intranet, extranet and mobile products. The projects and platforms that I have been closely involved with have found amazingly good homes within the company. What I loved most about my tenure is the opportunity to collaborate with some of the smartest and most passionate engineers in the industry to develop some great products that our customers love.

Before starting my next endeavor, I will be taking a few days off to enjoy the nice spring weather in Atlanta.

I’d love to stay in touch via LinkedIn.

Written by Mustafa Basgun

March 14, 2011 at 9:30 AM

Posted in Personal